RSS

Daily Archives: February 11, 2010

Karthik Excels A.R.Rahman

I got to listen to the songs of Ye Maayam Chesaave, the Telugu remake of Vinnaithaandi Varuvaaya starring Naga Chaitanya and Samantha Ruth Prabhu in the lead roles. The songs of VTV didn’t impress me much since I expected a lot from Gautam-ARR combo. As I’ve mentioned in my previous post, my favourite number is Mannippaaya and that too only for Shreya’s excellent rendition. Not for ARR whose words are not at all clear. He didn’t even pronounce the word velicham properly. But surprisingly Karthik has replaced ARR in Telugu version of Mannippaya (Vintunnaava). Though it’s not his mother-tongue his pronunciation is too good and the words are crystal clear. I don’t know the language but I could write those words in English while he’s singing. I just love the way of his singing. I like him a lot since Oliyile Therivadhu. He’s the best among the singers of this generation. My roomie Arun and I lamented that Rahman could have given the song to Karthik in Tamil too. Undoubtedly Shreya rocks in both. She’s just awesome in Telugu like the Tamil Version.

We got to watch th videos of VTV Audio launch function held at Satyam in youtube. We missed the program on Pongal which was telecast in Kalaignar TV. All the songs of the movie were sung by the singers on stage like unplugged. For our surprise, Mannippaya was sung by Karthik instead of Raman. We were so glad to listen to Mannippaya sung by Karthik. The only problem is Chinmayi. She couldn’t match Shreya. Still Karthik’s version was a delight for us. I guess, after listening to Karthik’s version, even Rahman would have felt that he did a mistake by crooning himself. That’s why he let Karthik sing in Telugu. Another surprise Hosanna was sung by Shrinivas. He could have sung in the movie too instead of Vijay Prakash. When Karthik sang the title song on stage with nothing but a guitar background, it was literally treat to the ears. I envy him for his heavenly voice and singing. The whole day I was humming the  male version of Mannippaya. Love you Karthik!!!

P.S: As usual, my caller tune is now changed – from Shreya’s Mannippaya to Karthik’s Vintunnava

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 11, 2010 in A.R.Rahman, Music