RSS

Raavanan – Music Preview

04 May

Post Raavan, the audio release of Raavanan created much more hype than the former. The audio release was slated 30th April, then changed to 2nd May and finally on May 5th 2010. Due to the social service of tech savvys, the songs are uploaded a day before the official release. I’m forced to download the songs. Since I’m a die-hard fan of Mani-ARR, I want to listen to the song at the earliest. So i can’t wait till the Music hits the stores. Though I download the songs, I’m gonna buy an Audio CD tomorrow like I did for Raavan. So, as the songs are getting downloaded, I would like to write a short preview.

The track names indicate that the Lyrics will be disppointing. Since Beera Beera and Veera Veera has minimal Lyrics, I’m not much concerned about that. Behne De is my most favourite for which I expect a National Award for its Splendid Lyrics and Terrific Singing is Usuru Poguthey in Tamil. The first two words let me down. I saw it as “Moozhgida vaa..” in wikipedia a couple of weeks before. I don’t doubt Karthik, but I doubt Vairamuthu whether he would have given justice to Gulzar saab’s usage of intense words. Ranjha Ranjha is Kaattu Sirukki.  I can’t even think of these kinda words in a Mani Ratnam film. Thankfully Anuradha Shriram has crooned the Tamil version of Ranjha Ranjha. I’m looking forward to Killi Re as Shreya has sung in Tamil.  My favourite Music critic Karthik has written in his Milliblog that Shreya’s “Kalvare” is much better than Reena Bharadwaj’s Khili Re (which is so obvious) and it’s the Best in Tamil Album. Thok De Khilli is Kodu potta sung and Sukhwinder is replaced by Benny Dayal. I’m curious how the lyrics would be in Tamil. Kata Kata is keda kari which is obvious kata hua bechara bakra is kedaa kari in Tamil. In wikipedia I found 7 songs, one sung by Rashid Ali & Asha Bhonsle

Eventually, I expect folk type of Lyrics. In my opinion, the title Asokavanam which was named previously for the Tamil Version is so good and pleasant. If Bhagyaraj didn’t direct Sundara Kandam, Mani would have grabbed the name for this film. Raavanan is so rustic and so as the Music.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 4, 2010 in A.R.Rahman, Mani Ratnam, Music

 

Leave a Reply

 
