RSS

Missed the Golden Opportunity

12 Oct

                                    Yesterday was one of the worst days of my life. I just wanna forget. Still I need to let out my frustration. Almost all Chennaiites might have known about “Jai Ho- A.R.Rahman’s Live in Concert” that was organised by the The Shakthi Foundation to raise funds for a Noble Cause. When my friend Bala asked me for booking a ticket for me two weeks before, I was on cloud 9 and said yes without a second thought. It’s been my long time wish to see A.R.R singing live. It’s like a Dream come True! I never missed his concert when telecast on TV. This is his first concer after he won the twin Oscars. But I kept it under wraps and didnt even tell my mom, bro and not even to my friend Rachna, with whom I share everything. I wanted to tell them all on the day of the concert. After a week of booking my ticket my brother was asking me whether to book a ticket for me. I told that I already booked but I was not sure whether I could attend or not due to my work which has “No Sundays n Holidays”.
                                      My dreams were shattered when my Zonal Manager came to our office on 10th Oct. I was told that he’ll be in Chennai for 3-4 days. I felt so much and lamented to my mom. She convinced me that I can watch while telecast in TV. But I was not convinced. When I told Bala, he told that he would know this and my other friend Thiyagu shouted at me that he would never call me for a movie or beach.
                                     On Sunday I was asked to sit with my clients in their office. Believe it or not! I workd till 6 am today. Moreover the task given to me was new to me and also to my colleagues. Since I have the only one report processing tool with me, I was made sit with them without any of my colleagues. I havent worked on it and hence it took more time to process the reeports. They were in a hurry to submit those reports to the Govt. Telecom Sector else they need to pay a penalty of 10 lacs. They kept pressurizing me and escalated to higher officials. One of my managers came to office at 12 and convinced me. Around 12.30 am, I got nervous and was about to cry but controlled, I couldnt even talk or type anything. Till 6 am, I processed all the reports and I left office. The first thing, I sent an sms to Bala asking for an apology and also abt the concert. My borther told the concert was not good without more prominent singers. He said it really or just to convince me? I dont know bcos Bala told me it was too gud.

P.S.: ! I’m planning to resign my job, taking a month’s rest and attending the December Carnatic Concerts.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 12, 2009 in A.R.Rahman, Memories n Memoirs, My Musings

 

2 responses to “Missed the Golden Opportunity

  1. balasrini

    October 13, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    Dai… Unakke ithu konjam too mucha theriyala?????? Concert paaaka mudiyathanalayum, december concert paakarathukkagavum nee resign panna poriya????

    Relax man… Take it easy!!!

     
  2. Kaarthik

    October 15, 2009 at 1:00 am

    Hey really, If I get chance to attend Ilayaraja’s concert, it’s damn sure I’ll take leave and attend. If I dont get, I wud resign.

     

Leave a Reply

 
