RSS

Happy Engineers Day

15 Sep

                             September 15 is celebrated every year in India as Engineer’s Day to commemorate the birthday of the legendary engineer Sir M. Visvesvaraya (1861-1962). Internationally recognised for his genius in harnessing water resources, he was responsible for successful design and construction of several river dams, bridges and implementing irrigation and drinking water schemes all over India. He served as the dewan of Mysore State and was considered to be the architect of the all-round development of Karnataka. Among his most successful projects are the design and construction of the K.R. Sagar dam and its adjoining Brindavan Gardens, turn-around of the Bhadravati Iron and Steel Works, setting up of the Mysore Sandalwood Oil Factory and the founding of the Bank of Mysore.

Courtesy (TOI)

                           I’m also an Engineer by accident, a so-called Engineer. Frankly speaking, I never consider myself as an Engineer since I’m more involved in Arts. I did Engineering only because of my mom’s compelsion. Coincidentally, I got my Engineerng seat through counselling 9 years back on Sep 14th 2000. After my +2, I hoped that I would never get an Engineering seat and joined B.Sc (IT) in K.S.R. College of Technology which is very nearer to my house. Believe it or not, I was the class Topper and I enjoyed that for 3 months. Film-making is always my passion and dream. I was planning to do D.F.T after my graduation. But due to my mom’s emotional black mails, I was made an Engineer.

                          I faced a lot of hurdles before going to the counselling (Sep 14th 2000 3 pm batch). I had given the originals of my 10th and 12th certificates to the K.S.R Management. They didnt give me back for counselling. I got it on Sep 13th 3000 after 6.30 pm. My train to Chennai was at 9.15 pm (Yecaud Express). As soon as I got the certificate, my dad and I rushed to home and got ready to go to the Station. It started raining heavily at 7.30 pm. Our scooter broke down in the mid way near the Cauvery bridge. We got drencehed totally. Not even a single bus stopped Fortunately, one of my dad’s colleagues crossed the way and he gave us a drop in his vehicle till Pallipalayam Bus Stand. I strongly believed that we would miss the train. Luckily we boarded the train while it was moving and reached Chennai the next morning. We were in Velachery in my Paternal Aunt’s house.

                             My villain is my maternal uncle Aadhavun who was very much eager to get me trapped into an Engineering College. He accompanied me to Anna University. I wanted only CSE group which was selling like a hot-cake that year. Since my cut-off is too low I couldn’t get CSE even in Payment seat. I didnt want Mechanical, Civil, EEE. I got ECE in some new colleges and some colleges in the South TN. I got two options, E&I in Tamilnadu College of Engg, Coimbatore and Mookambigai College of Engg, Trichy. Since my uncle did M.E. from REC, Trichy he suggested Mookambigai. But I chose TCE mainly for the location, Coimbatore which is nearer to Erode. (If I had chosen Mookambigai, I also would have become a director like Gautam Menon who is an alumni of that College). I couldnt believe that I got a BE seat .My mom was on the cloud 9, not me. She prepared Sakkarai pongal and gave to our neighbours. I felt so ashamed for her gesture cos one of my my neighbours  got a seat in Anna University yet rejected and got in BITS, Pilani. The degree “B.E” belongs to my mom only. Even my dad was not willing to lose his money investedon my B.Sc. It’s her hardwork and determination who earned me the degree in her own money against my dad. Anyways, thanks mom!

P.S.: Similarity between me and my uncle other than that we are Geminis. Sep 14th is unlucky to oth of us since we got trapped. I got trapped in an Engineering Institution and he got trapped into the Institution of Marriage (Yeah, he was betrothed on Sep 14th 1997, poor guy.)

 
 

Leave a Reply

 
