RSS

Recent Ringtone of Youngsters

26 Aug

You might have heard this music very frequently these days. This is the ringtone of most of the youngsters today. It’s obvious that I too have the same ringtone. 4 out of 10 ppl keep this music as their ringtone. When I go out of my home, I get confused whether my mobile is ringing or some others’ mobiles. When I went out with my friends for a dinner one Sunday night, I saw my friend Bala got baffled when my mobile started ringing. Ya he’s also an ardent fan of Ilayaraja and he has the same ringtone.

                       This is an awesome piece of Music from the Maestro Ilayaraja in Mani Ratnam’s debut movie “Pallavi Anu Pallavi” in Kannada. It is the debut for Anil Kapoor too. The cinematography is by none other than Balu Mahendra. Though this movie was dubbed in Tamil as Priya Oh Priya, neither the movie nor the music became a hit. Thank God! Else Mouna Raagam would havent been a hit. Bcos, few of the Karthik scenes were there in Pallavi Anu Pallavi (Esp the Coffee shop scene). But Karthik made it the Best. Anil was so-so.

                        The music was later composed into a song by the Maestro in the Sivaji-Ambika starrer Vaazhkkai. But the song “Mella mella ennai thottu…” was picturised more like a cabaret song with Silk Smitha and Raveendar. It also didnt became a hit.

  After about 25 years, this music has become very popular after the movie Sarvam. In the movie, Arya hears this music whenever he sees Trisha. First I thought, Yuvan has copied his dad’s tune. But in the movie itself, Arya says he can hear Ilayaraja palying a violin when Trisha crosses him. It has become the latest and hottest ringtone.  I come across  “Mella mella ennai thottu…” as some of my friends’ the Caller/Hello/Dialer Tune. That’s the magic of the Maestro. Thanks to Yuvan and Vishnuvardhan for rehashing the Music and making it more popular.

P.S : As per my knowledge, this is the first Theme Music in South-Indian Films much before mesmerizing Theme Music of my all time favourites Mouna Raagam and Punnagai Mannan.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 26, 2009 in Ilayaraja, Mani Ratnam, Music

 

5 responses to “Recent Ringtone of Youngsters

  1. balasrini

    August 27, 2009 at 4:44 pm

    It’s my ringtone too !!!🙂

     
    • Rajkumar

      September 22, 2009 at 12:44 pm

      Hi balasrini ple……………ase send that mella mella ennai thottu ringtone to me my mobile number 9003734938

       
  2. balasrini

    August 27, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    He has given a song which is adored by our generation too… It menas.. he has a deleivered a product that is more than a decade advanced… that’s the greatness of this legend!!!

     
  3. Kaarthik

    August 28, 2009 at 11:49 am

    Exactly…. 80s to 90’s was golden age for Music Lovers

     
  4. Shiva Kumar

    November 8, 2009 at 7:51 pm

    I like Iliyaraja’s Pallavi anu Pallavi songs and I want to use the as my ring tone plz. help me

     

Leave a Reply

 
